The Association of Magazine Media


We are pleased to announce the first annual Imagination Awards for independent magazine media.  The Imagination Awards recognize projects and teams that capture the essence of a brand and demonstrate innovative thinking and imaginative tactics, well-defined business objectives, and successful execution and results.



Welcome to the home of MPA’s Independent publishers, better known as the IMAG brands. Modern, passionate and thoroughly hands-on, these companies come together regularly to share practices, resources and learnings unique to independent, enthusiast-driven magazine media companies.

Click here for information on the 2015 IMAG Annual Conference. 

The IMAG Board

Andrew Clurman | IMAG Chair President and Chief Executive Officer, Active Interest Media, Inc.

Laura Simkins | IMAG Vice Chair Chief Operating Officer, AFAR Media

Michela O’Connor Abrams President and Chief Executive Officer, Dwell Media

Andrew Amill Independent Publisher

Beth Fuchs Brenner Chief Revenue Officer, Domino Media Group

Chuck Croft President, Kalmbach Publishing Co.

Scott Dickey Chief Executive Officer, TEN: The Enthusiast Network

Christian Dorbandt Vice President, Consumer Marketing, Scientific American

Pamela Dunaway Publisher, Data Insights & Analytics Quarterly

Bradford W. Fayfield Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Storm Mountain Media

Stephen Giannetti Chief Revenue Officer, Smithsonian Media

Patti Green Executive Vice President and General Manager, Turnstile Media Group

Eric Hoffman President and Chief Operating Officer, Hoffman Media, LLC

Donna Kessler President, Morris Media Network, Morris Communications Company

Bonnie Kintzer President and Chief Executive Officer, Trusted Media Brands, Inc.

Joe Landry Executive Vice President and Group Publisher, Here Media

David Lusterman Publisher, String Letter Publishing

Jeff Paro President and Chief Executive Officer, Outdoor Sportsman Group (OSG)

a Division of KSE Media Ventures

Philip Penny Chief Operating Officer, Belvoir Media Group LLC

Donald B. Peschke Founder and Chief Executive Officer, August Home Publishing Company

Scott Schulman Independent Media Executive

Ryan Shea Publisher and Chief Operating Officer, Entrepreneur Media, Inc.

Jamie Trowbridge President, Yankee Publishing, Inc.

Bryan Welch Chief Executive Officer, B The Change Media

Elizabeth Tighe Vice President, Marketing, MPA and IMAG Staff Liaison


Contact Elizabeth Tighe, IMAG Liaison, with any questions (o)212.872.3771 (c)917.318.5370 or

About the IMAG Community

Within the world of magazine media brands, MPA has carved out a community of independent publishers to facilitate peer-to-peer convening, sharing and learning.  The entrepreneurial leaders of IMAG companies have navigated the transition from traditional magazine company to 360° magazine media brand with creativity and innovation. What’s next for these brands? Continuing to build, expand and monetize brand audiences and assets across platforms and formats.

Fueled by the passionate interest of enthusiast audiences, IMAG brands produce world-class content that captures the attention and loyalty of consumers. Much of the excitement and newness among magazine media industry comes from the independent niche brands whose willingness to experiment often drives innovation for the entire industry.

For more information about the IMAG community, or to become an IMAG brand, contact Elizabeth Tighe at


MPA Membership
MPA – The Association of Magazine Media
757 Third Ave, 11th Floor
New York, NY 10017
Phone: (212) 872-3767
Fax: (212) 888-4623