American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
Slate 2008 General Excellence Online Finalist Jacob Weisberg, editor-in-chief
Rolling Stone 2007 Reporting Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher
Vanity Fair 2006 Photo Portfolio/Photo Essay Finalist Graydon Carter, editor, David Harris, design director
Atlantic, The 2004 Fiction Finalist Cullen Murphy, managing editor
Entertainment Weekly 2003 General Excellence Finalist James W. Seymore, Jr., managing editor (for August 9 issue), Rick Tetzelli, managing editor
Texas Observer, The 2001 Reporting Finalist Louis Dubose, editor, Michael King, editor
Mirabella 1999 Essays & Criticism Finalist Roberta Myers, editor
DoubleTake 1997 General Excellence Finalist Robert Coles, Alex Harris, founding editors
Texas Monthly 1996 Feature Writing Finalist Gregory Curtis, Editor
New Yorker, The 1994 General Excellence Finalist Tina Brown, editor
GQ 1992 Special Interests Finalist Arthur Cooper, editor-in-chief
Yankee 1991 Design Finalist Judson D. Hale, Sr., editor, J. Porter, design editor
Philadelphia 1989 Public Interest Finalist Ron Javers, editor
Mother Jones 1987 Fiction Finalist Deirdre English, executive editor
Life 1985 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Richard B. Stolley, managing editor
New Yorker, The 1983 Essays & Criticism Finalist William Shawn, editor
Playboy 1981 Public Service Finalist Arthur Kretchmer, editorial director
Woman's Day 1978 Service to the Individual Finalist Geraldine E. Rhoads, editor-in-chief
Men's Journal 2011 Personal Service Finalist Jann S. Wenner, Editor in Chief; Will Dana, Editorial Director; Brad Wieners, Editor
W 2012 General Excellence (Women’s Magazines) Finalist Stefano Tonchi, Editor in Chief