American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort descending Editor
National Geographic 2010 General Excellence, Digital Media Finalist Chris Johns, editor-in-chief, Rob Covey, senior vice-president, digital media
Backpacker 2006 General Excellence Finalist Jonathan Dorn, editor-in-chief
Details 2005 General Excellence Finalist Daniel Peres, editor-in-chief
GQ 2004 Essays Finalist Arthur Cooper, editor-in-chief
Texas Monthly 2002 General Excellence Finalist Evan Smith, editor
House & Garden 2000 Essays Finalist Dominique Browning, editor-in-chief
Philadelphia 1997 Public Interest Finalist Eliot Kaplan, editor
American Short Fiction 1993 Fiction Finalist Laura Furman, editor
Nation, The 1990 Essays & Criticism Finalist Victor S. Navasky, editor
Esquire 1988 Fiction Finalist Lee Eisenberg, editor-in-chief
American Photography 1986 Photography Finalist Sean Callahan, editor
American Health 1984 General Excellence Finalist T. George Harris
Country Journal 1976 Service to the Individual Finalist Richard M. Ketchum, editor and co-founder
CNET 2011 News Reporting Finalist Declan McCullagh, Chief Political Correspondent; Elinor Mills, Senior Writer
Virginia Quarterly Review, The 2009 Fiction Finalist Ted Genoways, editor
TIME 2011 News and Documentary Photography Finalist Rick Stengel, Managing Editor
Sports Illustrated 2012 Profile Writing Finalist Terry McDonell, Editor, Time Inc. Sports Group
Bloomberg Businessweek 2013 Single-Topic Issue Finalist Josh Tyrangiel, Editor
The Daily Beast 2014 Multimedia Finalist Tina Brown, Editor in Chief
Harper's Bazaar 2015 General Excellence (Style and Design) Finalist Glenda Bailey, Editor in Chief