American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalistsort ascending Editor
Vanity Fair 2007 Columns and Commentary Winner Graydon Carter, editor
New Yorker, The 2002 Essays Winner David Remnick, editor
Sports Illustrated 1989 General Excellence Winner Mark Mulvoy, managing editor
Audubon 1977 Reporting Excellence Winner Les Line, editor-in-chief
Mademoiselle 1972 Fiction Winner
National Geographic 2017 Website Winner Susan Goldberg, Editor in Chief
Architectural Record 2003 General Excellence Winner Robert Ivy, editor-in-chief
Fortune 1994 Personal Service Winner Marshall Loeb, managing editor
Boston 1985 Essays & Criticism Winner Donald H. Forst, editor
New Yorker, The 2010 Public Interest Winner David Remnick, editor
New Yorker, The 2005 Profile Writing Winner David Remnick, editor
New Yorker, The 1998 Essays & Criticism Winner Tina Brown, editor
Rolling Stone 1988 Photography Winner Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher
Outside 1984 General Excellence Winner John Rasmus, editor
Science 81 1982 General Excellence Winner Allen L. Hammond, editor
New West 1979 Public Service Winner Jon Carroll
Wired 2012 Design, Digital Media Winner Chris Anderson, Editor in Chief; Brandon Kavulla, Creative Director
The Intercept 2016 Columns and Commentary Winner Betsy Reed, Editor in Chief
ESPN The Magazine 2006 General Excellence Winner Gary Hoenig, editor-in-chief
Vibe 2002 General Excellence Winner Emil Wilbekin, editor-in-chief