American Society of Magazine Editors

Winners and Finalists Database

Title Year Category Winner or Finalist Editor
Art in America 1976 Specialized Journalism Finalist Elizabeth C. Baker
New Yorker, The 1976 Fiction and Belles-Lettres Finalist William Shawn, editor
Atlantic, The 1976 Fiction and Belles-Lettres Finalist Robert Manning, editor
Newsweek 1976 Reporting Excellence Finalist Osborn Elliott, editor
Audubon 1976 Reporting Excellence Winner Les Line, editor-in-chief
People 1976 Visual Excellence Finalist Richard B. Stolley, managing editor
BusinessWeek 1976 Public Service Winner Lewis H. Young, editor-in-chief
Redbook 1976 Public Service Finalist Sey Chassler, editor-in-chief
California Journal 1976 Specialized Journalism Finalist Ed Salzman, editor
Rolling Stone 1976 Visual Excellence Finalist Jann S. Wenner, editor and publisher
Country Journal 1976 Service to the Individual Finalist Richard M. Ketchum, editor and co-founder
Texas Monthly 1976 Specialized Journalism Finalist William Broyles, editor
Ebony 1976 Service to the Individual Finalist Herbert Nipson, executive editor
Texas Monthly 1976 Reporting Excellence Finalist William Broyles, editor
Encore 1976 Public Service Finalist Ida E. Lewis
Time 1976 Special Award Winner
Essence 1976 Fiction and Belles-Lettres Winner Marcia Anne Gillespie, editor-in-chief
Time 1976 Reporting Excellence Finalist Henry Grunwald
Harper's Magazine 1976 Service to the Individual Finalist Lewis H. Lapham, editor
Time 1976 Public Service Finalist Henry A. Grunwald, managing editor