The Association of Magazine Media



Reporting for BuzzFeed, Matter, New Yorker, and Politico Magazine Commended;

First Place Winner to Be Announced April 19

Washington, D.C. (March 26, 2015)— Atlantic Media has selected four finalists for its annual Michael Kelly Award, which honors the fearless pursuit and expression of truth in journalism.

Now in its twelfth year, the award was created by Atlantic Media Chairman David Bradley to celebrate the life and career of Michael Kelly, former editor of two Atlantic Media publications–The Atlantic and National Journal–who was killed in Iraq while covering the war in 2003. The winner of the $25,000 first place prize will be announced at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., on April 19.

Selected from a record 91 entries, the finalists' work was chosen for displaying the courage, determination, and passion exemplified in Kelly's dedication to journalism. The 2015 finalists are:

  • Rania Abouzeid, a freelance journalist, for "The Jihad Next Door" in Politico Magazine. The piece reports on how ISIS used the conflict in Syria to rejuvenate itself and become a regional threat.
  • Matthieu Aikins, a freelance journalist, for "Whoever Saves a Life" in Matter, an online magazine. Aikins writes of his experience embedding with a group of first responders in Aleppo, Syria, dealing with the city's devastation.
  • Alex Campbell, an investigative reporter with BuzzFeed, for a series of stories on battered women sentenced to prison for failing to prevent their boyfriends or spouses from abusing their children.
  • Dexter Filkins, a staff writer with The New Yorker, for two articles on Iraq, one on then-Prime Minister Nuri al-Maliki, the second on Iraq's Kurds.

A panel of five judges included Jeffrey Goldberg, national correspondent for The Atlantic; Charles Green, contributing editor for National Journal; Cullen Murphy, editor-at-large of Vanity Fair; Mark Murray, senior political editor for NBC News; and Megan Twohey, investigative reporter for Thomson Reuters and 2014 Michael Kelly Award finalist. Among the finalists, Abouzeid, Campbell, and Filkins are first-time honorees. Aikins was a finalist in 2014.

Based in Washington, D.C., and New York City, Atlantic Media's portfolio includes The Atlantic, National Journal, Government Executive, Defense One, CityLab, and Quartz. Atlantic Media brands are ineligible for the Michael Kelly Award.

For additional information about the Michael Kelly Award, please visit or contact Sydney Simon (


Media Relations:

Sydney Simon, The Atlantic

(202) 266-7338

Thursday, March 26, 2015