The Association of Magazine Media

Atlantic Media Announces Finalists for 2014 Michael Kelly Award


Writers from the Associated Press, the Colorado Springs Gazette, Reuters, and Rolling Stone Commended

Washington, D.C. (March 27, 2014)—Celebrating the fearless pursuit and expression of truth, Atlantic Media announces four finalists for the 11th annual Michael Kelly Award.

The $25,000 award will be presented at a ceremony on April 13. The award was created in honor of Michael Kelly, who was the editor of two Atlantic Media publications, The Atlantic and National Journal, and he was killed while covering the Iraq War in 2003.

The entries encompass work published in a U.S.-based newspaper, magazine, or online site in 2013.

Chosen from a field of nearly 60 entries, the finalists for the 2014 Michael Kelly Award are:

  • Matthieu Aikins, for his story in Rolling Stone about allegations of war crimes committed by a U.S. Army Special Forces unit in Afghanistan.
  • Rukmini Callimachi, for her work as the West Africa bureau chief for the Associated Press, including her reports on internal al-Qaida documents she discovered.
  • Dave Philipps, for his coverage in the Colorado Springs Gazette of combat veterans receiving other-than-honorable discharges from the military.
  • Megan Twohey of Reuters, for a series on parents who give away their internationally-adopted children through an underground Internet clearinghouse.

The finalists' articles, as described by the five-member panel of judges, displayed the courage, determination, and passion that characterized Kelly's journalism career. Aikins, Philipps, and Twohey are first-time honorees. This is the third time Callimachi has been selected as a finalist, more than any other journalist.

The five judges of the 2014 Michael Kelly Award:

  • Tish Durkin, freelance writer
  • Charles Green, contributing editor, National Journal
  • Brian Mockenhaupt, freelance writer and winner of the 2013 Michael Kelly Award
  • Cullen Murphy, editor-at-large, Vanity Fair
  • James Oliphant, White House correspondent, National Journal

Additional information about this year's finalists is available at

Atlantic Media is a Washington-based publishing company whose properties include The Atlantic, National Journal, Government Executive, Quartz, and Defense One.


Thursday, March 27, 2014