The Association of Magazine Media

Wednesday, November 7, 2012

Publishers Aid Sandy Relief Efforts
SELF's Lucy Danziger, Hearst's Michael Clinton, MSLO's J eanne Meyer and Vanity Fair's SunHee Grinnell (pictured left) were among those who volunteered.
Martha Stewart to Exec Produce Fox Sitcom
"Tao of Martha" is based on Jen Lancaster’s upcoming book, which is in the vein of Julie and Julia, with domestic diva Stewart as a role model instead of cooking icon Julia Child.
Capturing the Global Citizen
Afar has expanded its digital strategy, added an experiential group travel model and a philanthropic organization—all of which grew from the community that initially formed around the magazine.
People.com's Redesigned Home Page
The new People.com front page pulls together a series of earlier tweaks the site had already been making this past year to the article pages, sharing tools and red carpet coverage.
Commentary: It's Not "Print Versus Digital." Of Course We're Both.
Time to Retool the Notion of "Premium" Content
Publishing and Agency Execs Define “Premium Inventory”
Meredith Teams Up with Campbell’s for Holiday Pinterest Sweepstakes
Rolling Stone Pages Aimed at Latinos, Even the Ads
SourceMedia Offering Enhanced Data Access to Subscribers
Businessweek Cover Gives a Glimpse of the Future for President-elect Barack Obama
Tired of Politics? MAD Has No Worries
The Story Behind TIME's Oct. 15 "Fact Wars" Cover
Imagine a (Nearly) Photo-Free Fashion Magazine
Style.com Hosts London Dinner
Best of Custom Publishing Honored at Pearl Awards
Nordstrom to Open CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Pop-Ups
Carine Roitfeld Elaborates on Role at Harper's Bazaar
Elisa Lipsky-Karasz Headed to WSJ. Magazine
Roll Call Names New Editor
The Problem with Ad Impressions
Study: Mobile Users Hate It When Apps Freeze; Vast Majority Will Write Bad Reviews
Security Risks Posed by 100K Android Apps
With Mobile Impressions, Tumblr Pushes Past 20 Billion Pageviews a Month
Study: Mobile Rich Media, Video Converge
The New York Times Tries to Make Mobile Apps More Than Just Containers for News Stories
Nexus 4 Is a Great Value with Small Improvements
Windows Store Now Has Almost 13,000 Windows 8 Apps
Mix and mingle with the magazine media digerati who are shaping the industry’s future on tablets and smartphones, with a welcome from Mary Berner, MPA President & CEO. Grab a colleague and register (complimentary).
PEOPLE Magazine just added! Join MPA, and special guests from New York Magazine, Glamour, Deloitte Digital & event sponsor EndPlay for a half-day workshop covering Responsive Design for magazines.
Mix and mingle with the magazine media digerati who are shaping the industry’s future on tablets and smartphones, with a welcome from Mary Berner, MPA President & CEO. Grab a colleague and register (complimentary).
Learn how to leverage social media platforms at MPA Digital: Social Media (Dec. 13), a valuable half-day conference designed exclusively for magazine media.
Sponsor Message
November 08, 2012
Changing the Conversation and New Initiatives, with Mary Berner, President & CEO, MPA. This monthly dinner series provides a forum for leading innovative magazine media pros to convene and share the challenges and successes of creating & curating cross-platform content for tablets and smartphones.
November 28, 2012
ASME
Keep up with the rapidly changing rules—and learn how to keep your magazine out of court.

The New Yorker: Breakfast this morning was a chocolate cake made by a twelve-year-old. It was an Obama victory cake. In a stunning show of principle, the resident Republican, who is also the brownie specialist, pushed his plate away.

click me