The Association of Magazine Media

Tuesday, December 12, 2017

Editors’ Picks: Our Favorite Magazine Stories of 2017
"As the year comes to a close, we asked six editors and friends of Folio: to weigh in on their picks for the best magazine stories of 2017. Here’s what they said."
Google Is Sending More Traffic than Facebook to Publishers — Again
Facebook sent 25 percent less traffic to publishers this year, while Google increased its traffic by 17 percent, according to Parse.ly.
A Disney Deal for Fox Is Coming within Days
Disney would acquire Fox’s movie and TV studio, networks including FX and National Geographic, and international assets including Star India’s TV channels and a 39 percent stake in European satellite provider Sky Plc. Disney would also get Fox’s stake in U.S. streaming-video provider Hulu, doubling its ownership to 60 percent.
Hearst 100: Joanna Coles Annual Power Luncheon Addresses Sexual Harassment
The Hearst 100 drew a powerful guest list, but the biggest stars were New York Times reporters Jodi Kantor and Megan Twohey.
Interior Secretary Ryan Zinke Is Mad Because Outside Magazine Pointed Out He's A Fly Fishing Novice
"Outside published a profile of Zinke on Dec. 4 that chronicled his shift from environmental “maverick” to “Trump’s Attack Dog on the Environment.” The (very good) profile ends with an anecdote about how Zinke is a fly fishing idiot." writes Patrick Redford of Deadspin.
Marshall Loeb, Editor Who Shaped Money and Fortune Magazines, Dies at 88
Marshall R. Loeb, a business journalist who turned a floundering Money magazine into one of the nation’s most successful publications in the 1980s and then led a similar revival at Fortune, died on Saturday in Manhattan. He was 88.
Simeon Booker, Pioneering Reporter on Race Issues, Dies at 99
Simeon S. Booker Jr., an award-winning journalist and author who provided pioneering coverage of racial injustice and the civil rights struggle for readers of Jet and Ebony magazines and was The Washington Post’s first black reporter, died on Sunday in Solomons, Md. He was 99.
Steven Smith Says Believe the Hype: The Most Buzz-Worthy Trends of 2017
A roundup of this year’s true game changers. ere I explore some of these trends and try to cast a little insight as to why they matter, and how they might continue to shakeup the landscape as we look ahead to 2018."
GH's Lori Bergamotto on TODAY with the Ultimate Gift Guide
Good Housekeeping Style Director Lori Bergamotto appeared on The Today Show to share the ultimate gift guide for everyone on your list.
All the research facts, charts, and data are ready to use in your presentations.
February 06, 2018
Conrad New York
Contact Alison Heisler, aheisler@magazine.org or 212-872-3740, for details and custom opportunities.
February 06, 2018
Conrad New York